Google Auto-Delete Location: Google to auto-delete your location, search history after three months

Must read

How to disable and delete Samsung Pay from your Galaxy phone

When it comes to paying conveniently, Samsung Pay makes using your phone as a bank card an easy process; however, there may come...

Hands on: DJI RSC 2 review

You can leave your dolly at the door: the arrival of the DJI RSC 2 means Hollywood-worthy tracking shots are more accessible than...

How to Hack the Hidden Google Chrome Dinosaur Game

Most of us have seen the dreaded “No Internet” error message on Google Chrome. You can actually turn this screen into a fun,...

Microscopic Photos Show The Hidden Beauty Of An Invisible World

We know that wildlife photos of large mammals and wide open vistas can be breathtaking, but you know what doesn't get...
Bhawani Singhhttps://techmepro.com
I am a blogger who believes in delivering latest tech news from around the world to my viewers.

Google has announced that it will auto-delete your Location History, search, voice and YouTube activity data after 3 months. Google had introduced auto-delete controls last year but very few people seem to know about it and actively use it. With the new change, whatever data Google collects about your online presence through the usage of its products will be automatically deleted by default after 3 months.
Location history is turned off by default for first time users and the auto-delete option will be set to 18 months by default. Web & App Activity auto-delete will also default to 18 months for new accounts. “This means your activity data will be automatically and continuously deleted after 18 months, rather than kept until you choose to delete it. You can always turn these settings off or change your auto-delete option,” as per the official blog post.
Meanwhile, if Location History and Web & App Activity is turned on for an account, Google will remind you about the auto-delete controls. Explaining the move, Sundar Pichai, CEO, Google said, “As we introduce default retention to more products, we’re guided by the principle that products should keep information only for as long as it’s useful to you. As always, we don’t sell your information to anyone, and we don’t use information in apps where you primarily store personal content—such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar and Photos—for advertising purposes, period.”
Google believes this will also help products like YouTube to better understand a user’s taste and recommend better content. “This improves upon current industry practice and ensures that YouTube can continue to make relevant entertainment recommendations based on what you’ve watched or listened to in the past—like letting you know if your favorite series has released another season, or when your favorite artist drops a new album,” it added.

Source link


More articles

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

- Advertisement -

Latest article

NASA’s OSIRIS-REx spacecraft successfully touches asteroid

CAPE CANAVERAL: A NASA spacecraft descended to an asteroid Tuesday and, dodging boulders the size of buildings, momentarily touched the surface to collect...

PayPal allows Bitcoin and crypto spending

Cryptocurrencies are being added to one of the world's biggest online payment networks. Source link

Quibi Calls It Quits After Just Six Months of Operation (Update: Confirmed) – Review Geek

QuibiIn a weird, but not unexpected turn of events, the mobile-first streaming service Quibi has come to an end. According to the Wall...

Final Fantasy 16 release date predictions, trailer and what we know

Final Fantasy 16 (XVI) was announced on September 16 as a PlayStation 5 exclusive. The RPG is the next mainline title in the...

iOS 14.1, iPadOS 14.1 Released With 10-Bit HDR Video Playback, Edit Support for Earlier Models

Apple has released iOS 14.1 and iPadOS 14.1 as the latest improvement-focussed updates for compatible iPhone and iPad models. The new updates come...
- Advertisement -