Google is Enabling History Auto-Delete by Default for New Users – Review Geek

Must read

How to disable and delete Samsung Pay from your Galaxy phone

When it comes to paying conveniently, Samsung Pay makes using your phone as a bank card an easy process; however, there may come...

Playing Xbox Series X games makes it hard to go back to the Xbox One

TechRadar has had hands-on time with a not-final version of the Xbox Series X as part of the Xbox Series X preview program.It's...

You Really Are Better Off Spending Your Money On An HP Omen 15 Gaming Laptop

As we resume the Intel vs AMD battles in earnest again, after many years, the Dell G5 15 SE gaming laptop sits very...

Should I buy an SSD for my PS4 or PS4 Pro?

Wondering whether you should buy an SSD for your PS4 or PS4 Pro? Then you've landed on the right page. Solid-state storage is...
Bhawani Singhhttps://techmepro.com
I am a blogger who believes in delivering latest tech news from around the world to my viewers.

Google Aut-Delete settings on the account page
Google

Last year, Google pushed a new feature that allows users to automatically delete search, location, voice, and YouTube history after 3 or 18 months. Today, that feature is being enabled by default for new users (or users who enable history tracking for the first time).

Location History, which saves where you go for better recommendations in Maps (and more), is disabled by default. But now, if you choose to enable it, then it will automatically delete your location history after 18 months. You also still have the option of changing this to 3 months if you’d like.


For Web & App activity, tracking is enabled by default for all accounts, and auto-delete options were disabled. But starting now, the default for this option will also be set to auto-delete after 18 months. Again, the option for 3 months is still available, or you can disable tracking altogether.

Google

For YouTube, auto-delete settings will default to 36 months for users who open new accounts or enable the tracking feature for the first time. The current 3 and 18 month options are also available here if you’d prefer one of those.

Further, Google is making it easier to control your account directly from search—just look up a quick term like “privacy checkup” and a box will show up in-line. It’s only visible to you and will make tweaking your Google account easier. The company is also making incognito mode for apps like YouTube more accessible by long-pressing your profile picture.


An example of the in-line Privacy Checkup box in search
Google

As usual, all of the delete options and deeper account controls can be found in your Google Account Settings. It’s also worth noting that if you previously enabled Location or YouTube History tracking, your auto-delete settings will not be automatically changed to the now-default 18 months. You’ll need to jump in and do that yourself.

Source: Google



Source link

More articles

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

- Advertisement -

Latest article

How do you put your phone in your pocket?

We already know which pocket most of our readers put their smartphone in, but based on a rather heated discussion at the Android...

Samsung Galaxy S21 Series Colour Options Tipped, Phones Said to Be Produced in Brazil, Indonesia, Korea, Vietnam

Samsung Galaxy S21 series (not the official name) colours have been allegedly leaked, along with the production countries. The information was shared by a...

Microsoft Is Bringing a Skype Meet Now Button to Your Windows 10 Taskbar for Quick Video Calls

Microsoft is bringing a “Meet Now” icon to the taskbar of the latest Windows 10 version to let users quickly set up a...

Latest scientific findings on covid-19

The following is a roundup of some of the latest scientific studies on the novel coronavirus and efforts to find treatments...
- Advertisement -